General Impairment DUI Penalties

First Offense
  • Misdemeanor - ungraded
  • Probation: 6 months maximum
  • $300 fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
Second Offense
  • Misdemeanor - ungraded
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 5 days minimum prison sentence
  • $300 - $2,500 fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock
Third Offense
  • Misdemeanor – 2nd degree
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 10 days minimum prison sentence
  • $500 - $5,000 fine
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock


High BAC / Controlled Substance DUI Penalties

David J. Cohen Law Firm, LLC

attorney AND COUNSELOR AT LAW
First Offense
  • Misdemeanor - ungraded
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 72 hours minimum prison sentence
  • $1,000 - $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
Second Offense
  • Misdemeanor – 1st degree
  • 18-month license suspension
  • 90 days minimum prison sentence
  • $1,500 minimum fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 year
Third Offense of Subsequent
  •  Misdemeanor – 1st degree
  • 18-month license suspension
  • 1 year minimum prison sentence
  • $2,500 minimum fine
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 year


Pennsylvania DUI Law breaks down ones BAC into three tiers and each tier carries different penalties.


  • General Impairment BAC: 0.08 – 0.99%
  • High BAC: 0.10 – 0.159%
  • Highest BAC: 0.16% and higher


           Pennsylvania's DUI Penalties are set for pursuant to 75 Pa. C.S.A. § 3804


High BAC DUI Penalties

Pennsylvania's Driving under the influence  [DUI] of alcohol or controlled substance law - 75 Pa. C.S.A. § 3802.

The Pennsylvania DUI law is set forth in the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code at 75 Pa. C.S.A. §
3801, et seq. In Pennsylvania, an individual can be charged with driving under the influence of
alcohol or controlled substances (drugs) when the individual drives, operates, or is in actual
physical control of the movement of a vehicle such that:


      1.      The individual is rendered incapable of safe driving, operating, or being in actual physical control of the movement of the vehicle, or


     2.    The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in the person’s blood or breath is at least 0.08%.

First Offense
  • Misdemeanor - ungraded
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 48 hours minimum prison sentence
  • $500 - $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
Second Offense
  • Misdemeanor - ungraded
  • 12-month suspension
  • 30 days minimum prison sentence
  • $750 - $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol Highway Safety School
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 year
Third Offense
  • Misdemeanor – 1st degree
  • 12-month license suspension
  • 90 days minimum prison sentence
  • $1,500 - $10,000 fine
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 year
Fourth and Subsequent Offenses
  • Misdemeanor – 1st degree
  • 18-month license suspension
  • 1 year minimum prison sentence
  • $1,500 - $10,000 fine
  • CRN Evaluation
  • Drug and alcohol treatment as ordered
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 year